on dead poets society, the film

sivuyile
4 min readMay 9, 2024

we read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion

– Mr Keating

Actors ☆☆☆☆
“Perfect casting” is an understatement when it comes to film. From the first scene, Mr Keating is introduced to us, I felt his acting was very natural and compelling. It didn’t feel like he was just acting. He (Mr Robin) was Mr Keating. He brought the character to life. When I read about Mr Richard’s acting life, I learned that he was widely known for his improvisation skills, and it made sense why his acting felt this way. Mr Keating is one of my favourite characters in the film.

Neil reminded me of how hopeful and trusting children are of adults. We trust their judgement and way of life, not fully understanding what they’re fuelled by. We also trust that when the time comes when we tell them our dreams, our wishes and goals, they’ll be supportive, understanding, and loving through and through. He reminded me of how one’s shine can quickly turn dark and never shine again because the adults in our lives can make or break us before we fully understand and commit to who we are. I did not predict his death until moments before he died. I wanted him to live and make decisions about the life he wanted to lead.

Todd is another brilliant character I loved. He reminded me of a child who needs a little push to realise his capabilities. Mr Keating was that person for him, and later on, he was a reminder to Mr Keating that he had done his job. He is someone who feels emotions deeply, and that’s an amazing trait to possess. I honestly loved what he stood for as a person.

Charlie/ Nuwanda is the friend many want to have. Someone witty, funny, and caring. He is the character we’re bound to love and care for, and his delivery was exceptional.
Cameron is the friend who would do anything to save those he loves and cares for, even at the cost of losing them. He was in a tight spot, and he did what he saw as best. It would be fit to say he chose those who had more to lose by naming Mr Keating as responsible for Neil’s demise.

The film Overrall ☆☆☆☆☆
Was excellent. It is everything a hopeless romantic could dream of.
I loved it from start to finish. I laughed, sympathised, and cried through it. I regret not watching it earlier, but without a doubt, I can confirm that it is now my favourite. It is old but rich with history, love, friendship, and literature. It is a reminder – in a way- that we all need each other in ways we can not begin to name and that family is not always blood-related, it’s those friends and friendships we form when we are not sure where they will lead. It is those teachers that go all out to teach us more than the syllabus, because they understand that there is no manual to the lives we will lead after exiting school and moulding us in a way that we are equipped for whatever is awaiting us on the other side. It is the best lesson they could ever teach.

o' captain, my captain

Mr Keating deserved better. Charlie, Todd, and Neil deserved better, and Cameron deserved better. Knox got the girl he fought for.
it’s hard to find an old and good film like this one, so for the time being, I will save it for those days when I need to hear “carpe diem.”

quotes I loved

  • Thoreau said, “Most men lead lives of quiet desperation.”
  • Now, we all have a need for acceptance. but you must trust that your beliefs are unique, your own. Even though others may think them odd or unpopular.
  • Only in their dreams can men truly be free.
  • We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion (this one always reminds me of female writers who defied all odds back in the day to write and some even wrote under pseudonyms)
  • There’s a time for daring, and there’s a time for caution, and a wise man understands which is called for.
  • Show me the heart unfettered by foolish dreams, and I’ll show you a happy man.
  • Savor language and words because no matter what anyone tells you, words and ideas have the power to change the world.
  • You must strive to find your own voice, boys, and the longer you wait to begin, the less likely you are to find it at all.
  • No, I’ve been calm all my life! If I don’t do something, it’s gonna kill me!
  • College will probably destroy your love for poetry. Hours of boring analysis, dissection, and criticism will see to that. College will also expose you to all manner of literature—much of it transcendent works of magic that you must devour; some of it utter dreck that you must avoid like the plague

--

--